Another L&P coil question for a DIY

I know this is a question that has been discussed at some length before here, but I’ve read a lot of posts and I’m still finding it hard to decide between the Bolsa and Combi-zone as a support layer.

As background, I’m 5’8, 165lbs, male, 42, single and I think about 50-50 back and side sleeper. No back issues, but my shoulder has been painful recently, although I don’t know if this is anything to do with sleep position, or gym and boxing related. I’ve been sleeping on some sort of 6" foam thing for several years (so I guess I’m not that sensitive) but figured it was time to get a proper mattress.

I’ve tried out the 2022 Beautyrest Black C-class in stores and loved the overall feel of both the firm and the medium offerings. As you’d expect the firm felt better in my back position and the medium on my side, so I found it very difficult to pick a preferred option. But in any case the price is too high, and I like the idea of tinkering, which has led me to considering a DIY system with coils, and a comfort layers total of about 4-5" of foam - some combination of medium and soft latex, and maybe an inch of memory foam. Ideally I’d like to get close to the feel of the BR beds, understanding that trying to accurately replicate it is a fools errand.

So, the question is, do I go for the L&P Bolsa or Combi-zone, or to rephrase it slightly into three parts:

1. What is likely to feel worse - side sleeping on the Combi-zone, or back sleeping on the Bolsa?
  2. Which of the two is likely to be easier to fix/adjust with foam layer substitution/addition, in the event that the coils are unbearably soft or firm?
  3. How similar is the BR T3 zoned system to the L&P combi zone?

Thanks in advance and apologies again for a very similar question to many others.

B

Did you ever find the answers to these questions? I am also doing a DIY and I’m wondering the exact same things.