back pain

Hello, I am new to the sight. I have been sleeping on a semiwave waterbed for about 15 years. Now due to age/injury, I have been waking up about 2/3rds of the way through the night with lower back pain. I tried sleeping on spare bed(pillowtop), couch,floor,etc. Finally I purchased a 4inch memory foam topper. I found that if I put it on the pillowtop bed I wake up with no back pain but that bed is a full size and topper/bedroom bed is a cal king. So I just spent $3000 on a Serta cal king Icomfort Prodigy mattress and night number one I woke up with back pain-same as waterbed. AHHHHH!!! Now I am freaking cuz I spent all this money and only have 14 days to exchange into ??? Do I need to give this mattress more time or do I need a different kind? Lower back pain/ache no matter how I try to sleep. I am 6’2" 190lbs and typically a size sleeper with a pillow between my knees. Sometimes I sleep on my back. Any suggestions?

Hi scttz90,

Personally I would exchange it for several reasons because if anything it could easily get worse.