Bed in a box experiment in Canada (Hamuq and Logan & Cove so far)

Hello,

I’m new to TMU and I really appreciate the information and resources on this site. After 14 years on our current mattress it is time to find a new one. Unfortunately I started out using the trial and error method before finding this resource to help the search. Reading reviews online has been a frustrating experience and hasn’t yielded great results.

So far we have tried two Canadian options. The first attempt was the Hamuq hybrid which after 30 night sleep trial my wife found she was waking up with back pain. The company offered a topper which helped her issue but was causing me to wake up with bad low back back pain that only worsened in the 3 days of using the topper (too soft for me). I am 6’3" and 265 lbs and she is 5’6" and 150 lbs, both of us are side sleepers. After a bit of a wait for Hamuq to locate a willing charity to accept the mattress we were able to return it for a full refund. The Hamuq was almost a keeper, it felt good to me, my wife was sleeping longer on it and it slept cool. The edge support was poor and if it wasn’t for my wife’s sore back that would have been my only complaint.

Attempt number two is the Logan and Cove in Medium Plush. My wife took an immediate dislike to this mattress and was unable to even fall asleep on it after 4 nights. Her back pain would start after a few minutes laying on the mattress. We reached out to the company to see if they had any sleep tips and they emailed me and said that anything we might try to do to soften up the mattress would void the warranty and basically it is too bad that it isn’t working for you but continue to sleep on it and then you can get a refund after 30 days. Not too helpful, not overly comfortable and my wife wasn’t sleeping any longer when she did sleep, it does have great edge support though compared to the Hamuq.