BiaB Tranquility GEL - to buy or not to buy?

[color=#0000bb]I have been sleeping on the same full sized innerspring mattress for nearly 20 years (my parents bought that one), so I am new to the bed buying experience. I started with a Google search for “what is the best bed” and found some really positive reviews on sleeplikethedead.com for the Bed in a Box memory foam mattresses. After looking at some things on the site, I was all set to buy the Tranquility GEL with Natural TENCEL® Memory Foam Mattress.

Before I followed through, I found this article and it made me reconsider. As this information is specifically for the original PacBed, I wondered if the same applies to the Tanquility GEL? After reading some more information in the posts, I see that the density of this bed is 2.4 lbs, below the recommended 5+ lbs.[/color]

[table]
[tr]
[th][/th]
[th]Current Bed[/th]
[th]What I Want[/th]
[/tr]
[tr]
[td]

Size
[/td]
[td]
Full
[/td]
[td]
King
[/td]
[/tr]
[tr]
[td]
Construction
[/td]
[td]
Innersprings
[/td]
[td]
Memory Foam
[/td]
[/tr]
[tr]
[td]
[td]
~20 years
[/td]
[td]
-
[/td]
[/tr]
[tr]
[td]
Issues
[/td]
[td]
Dog created holes exposing springs
[/td]
[td]
-
[/td]
[/tr]
[tr]
[td]
Price
[/td]
[td]
-
[/td]
[td]
< $2000 ($3000 max)
[/td]
[/tr]
[/table]

So I wonder, is this bed a good buy, or is there a comparable option that I should check out instead?

Me

• 5’10"
  • ~180 lbs
  • Severe sleep apnea - I use a CPAP
  • Side sleeper 70%
  • Back sleeper 20% (up recently due to CPAP mask)
  • Stomach sleeper 10% (down due to CPAP mask)

Hi Fyrurm,

The first place to start your research is post #1 here which has the basic information, steps, and guidelines you will need to make the best possible choices. It also includes a link to some of the better online memory foam options I’m aware of.