DIY selection assistance

Hi all… I’ve been monitoring these forums since 2014 or so, and have been through several mattresses along the way… We’ve grown tired of whats available in the conventional mattress market, especially since there is a clear lack of independent manufacturers that are local for us. I’ve decided that I want to try my hand at taking the DIY route – with the appeal being that it will allow for more tweaking if things dont work out initially. First some background… There are two of us in the bed… I’m 5’7" 205 lbs, shes 4’11 175 lbs. I’m primarily a side sleeper… She starts out as a back sleeper, but switches over to her side, and alternates right/left side through the night (usually seems like she cant get comfortable. I have issues with shoulder pain with no major underlying medical conditions diagnosed related to that. She complains of hip pain “all day long”, which kind of leads me to the conclusion that our current mattress is too firm (King Koil Laura Ashley Audrey Firm 2015 – we tried to soften it up a bit with a Kohls 1.5" memory foam topper, and that helped for some time - but now we’re both waking up miserable, when we are able to sleep at all). Prior to this mattress, we had tried a number of online offerings that didnt work out for us (Many of this is detailed from back then here: https://forum.mattressunderground.com/t/switching-from-air-to-brooklyn-bme-questions/59585 – weve also both put on some weight since that post):