DIY very, very cheap bed solution for plus size + fibromyalgia: seeking input on latex layers, base, and poss alternatives

I write seeking guidance in DIY’ing a latex mattress on the “very cheap.”

I developed fibromyalgia about two years ago. I’m a 5’10" female, but I went from 160 to 235 lb. in under a year (crappy drugs, coupled with inactivity from what becomes almost a fear of physical movement).

I have had the original, entirely polyfoam Tuft & Needle mattress since November of 2018; I was never a huge fan, honestly, but I noticed that as I began to gain weight, it quickly became more and more uncomfortable. I normally sleep on my side or my back, but, for instance, if I fall asleep on my back, I can’t turn over to my side without acute pain. And even sleeping on my side, the dull pain in my lower back and my shoulders affects my energy and mood all day. I’m no expert, but my back is telling me this thing just doesn’t supply enough support to keep my spine in alignment.

I’d be buying the best mattress I could afford right now if I could afford to, but I’m on a stringent fixed income; I think my maximum “comfortable” budget would be $900.00 and that would be really pushing it. To do everything short of buying a new mattress, I bought a Lucid 3" thick memory foam topper in late October (Black Friday came early this year: it was $40.00), and stuffed ¼" plus of cardboard under the mattress for support. That hack made sleeping more comfortable, but I still woke up with a bad back. And now it’s pretty much as bad as it was previously. So, I’ve decided to DIY it, possibly in stages.