Help On Pocket Spring Latex Mattress

Hey Guys & Girls

Newbie here from across the pond in the U.K

Stumbled on your very informative website when doing a little research on the mattress I was looking to purchase.

Just wanted to get your opinions on this beds construction/ contents and whether you think it was value for money etc

Here is the make up from the retailer/ manufacture of the mattress:

FIRST LAYER: One inch HD Foam: directly on top of the spring unit (as the insulator).

SECOND LAYER: 3cm White Talalay 60/40 Latex:(Latexco)

THIRD LAYER: 3cm White Talalay 60/40 Latex: (Latexco)

FOURTH LAYER: 300 gsm Wool Silk blend pad: directly beneath the fabric which gives a slight cushion on top of the latex.

There is more info on their website but I am unsure whether I can post links on this forum so have not posted it.

Cheers

Hi bottle123,

I have no knowledge of the UK market or what would constitute good value there but I can certainly make some comments about the questions I would ask and the quality of the materials in the mattress.

FIRST LAYER: One inch HD Foam: directly on top of the spring unit (as the insulator): HD polyfoam is just a generic description and doesn’t indicate the quality of this layer. I would want to know the density of this layer. While its not likely to be a big issue because its deeper in the mattress and only one inch (which is within the guidelines I use for “unknown polyfoam” in a mattress … I would still want to know just as a matter of principle because being right over the pocket coils it will be subject to some stresses when you sleep on it. It would be better if this was good quality/density polyfoam that had good durability

SECOND LAYER: 3cm White Talalay 60/40 Latex:(Latexco): this is a good quality material and I would have no issues with it.

THIRD LAYER: 3cm White Talalay 60/40 Latex: (Latexco): Same as layer two but likely a different firmness. Also a good quality layer.