Holy crap, mattresses have changed...

So… my wife and I have finally opted to retire our 20 year old Jamison dual pillowtop and upgrade our furniture situation. We’ve started looking at mattresses, laid on quite a few, but are still not sure which direction to go. The mattress industry has changed a LOT since we purchased our last mattress!

Looking for a little guidance from some pros…

The wife and I are both around 180 lbs and primarily side sleepers, although my wife is occasionally a stomach sleeper also. I sleep hot, so something that will keep me cool is important. I also have a bad lower back, so support through my hips is something that I think should hopefully help.

I’ve been looking at reviews for quite a few mattresses and the Tuft & Needle Mint is really intriguing. I’m new to the “bed in a box” model and have never slept on a “luxury foam” product. Should it give me the support, cooling properties, and longevity I’m looking for?

Buying a mattress is an investment, but I also want to do this on “budget”. Preferably staying under $1500.

What advice can you offer for a guy like me? I’m someone who pours over research and reviews for large purchases for months before pulling the trigger on something, but I don’t have that kind of time… new furniture will be here on the 19th.

Any help, advice, pointers, etc… you can offer is GREATLY appreciated.

Also… the Bear Hybrid looks interesting to me. If there is a way to help me calculate potential Pros/Cons vs the Mint would be HUGE!

Thanks in advance for any guidance :slight_smile:

What size mattress?

King… I actually bit the bullet and went Bear Hybrid.

Hoping we’ll be happy with it!

My wife and I are looking at the Bear Hybrid as well. How has yours worked out for you?