Looking for latex topper thickness and firmness advice

I’m shopping for a latex topper and looking for a bit of advice. I’m pretty sure I want 2" or 3" Talalay in about 18-24 ILD. I’m fine with blended, especially given the price advantage. I do want latex made by a well known manufacturer. I have no experience with latex and would have no way to tell if I receive the genuine article / correct firmness, so I don’t want to take my chances with any mystery foams or unreliable retailers.

This will go on top of a new firm innerspring mattress that I selected specifically to pair with a soft latex topper. I bought the entry level (cheapest, least frills) “firm” Beautyrest (13.75 gauge coils) I could find (queen size). Even this has more padding on top than I wanted. We slept on it for the first time last night and it feels very firm right now. It’s on a metal platform base, without a box spring of course.

I’m an average height skinny dude and my girlfriend is 5’2" about 130#. I’m a back and side sleeper. She’s a bit of everything, but I don’t know how much of her stomach sleeping is because our old mattress was uncomfortable for her on her back or side. She needs pressure relief, for her hips for example. I think she’s right on the edge of a 2" or 3" topper being suitable, whereas I figure 2" or less would be adequate for me. I’m concerned that 3" may screw up my spinal alignment (and maybe even hers). My idea was to start with a 2" topper and see how it goes, and if it’s not enough get an additional topper (maybe 1") for either the whole bed or just her side. I probably would’ve done that already, but I’m finding that a lot of websites only sell 3-inchers, and some that have 2-inchers only have more expensive all natural Talalay, or only have Dunlop. That’s causing me to reconsider whether I should just get a 3".

What do you think about how suitable 3" would be for us and how its performance would compare to 2"?