Mattress reccomendation for split king coming fom Casper Original

Hi, I didn’t realize there was a dedicated forum to ask directly to Sleep EZ so I’m cross posting here:

We’re coming from the original Casper mattress as I’ve been struggling with horrible lower to mid back pain in the morning for quite some time. I previously flew helicopters for a living and assumed it was just that but lately have been researching and figured it might be the bed. I (6 foot 1 and 230 lbs) felt the original casper was a bit firm and my wife (5 foot 5 and 110lbs) couldn’t sleep on it due to the firmness. We purchased a 2 inch bamboo memory topper and the wife has been happy with the bed ever since. I think the bed is comfortable but I wake up in pain every morning. My wife is mostly a side sleeper though she does end up on her back from time to time. I typically fall asleep on my side but I always wake up on my back, some people I’ve talked to say this might be because of the bed. Our current bed “feels fine” but I can only stay on my side for so long, my shoulder begins to get sore making me think it’s too firm. When I was younger I would occasionally sleep on the floor (always on my back) and enjoyed it and the return to comfort the next night.

After much research I think I like the offerings and return policy from SleepEz. I’m looking for a split king setup and their configurator is recommending (9 inch) a Tala Soft Top, Med Middle and Firm Bottom for my wife, while they recommend a Med Tala. top, Med Middle, Firm bottom for me. Is there any other advice you could give me on this or does it all seem good? I want to make sure it’s soft enough for the wife and she doesn’t like firmness at all and is quite light. I want to make sure I’m comfortable enough to side or back sleep. In the event that we both need to tweak the firmness are we able to each swap a layer within the 60 days for a single 30 dollar fee or will that be considered two swaps?