Mold on bottom of memory foam

I recently discovered a couple of moldy spots at the bottom of my memory foam mattress that I had been using for 10+ years. The mattress was on top of a solid base platform bed (i.e., no slats). It appears that other memory foam mattress owners may have the same issue because memory foam doesn’t circulate air as well and tends to get hot. I am now looking to buy a latex mattress but am concerned that we might encounter the same mold issue at some point down the road. Does anyone know whether latex mattresses might get moldy too? Do we need to replace our bed (prefer to not have to do this) or get a slatted foundation to put between the latex mattress and the solid base platform to make sure this doesn’t happen again? Thanks in advance for any feedback.

Hi myconfidant,

Welcome to the Mattress Forum! :slight_smile:

Your questions about mold, breathability, foundations and mattress materials is a good one, and it comes up every so often here on the forum. This allows me the opportunity to speak to this again – thanks!