Quality Mattress comparable to IKEA Medium Firm Morgedal?

Hi everyone, I’m new here and I’ve heard a lot of great things about this community.

I am a 5’8’', 135lb male back sleeper. I am desperate. I have been sleeping on an IKEA Medium Firm Morgedal for the last 20 months. I’m looking for a higher quality and longer lasting alternative with similar firmness and other properties (all foam, no plush top layer). I prefer online “bed in a box” recommendations with good return policy/trial periods, but I’m open to other suggestions. Budget: ~$2k (but willing to stretch it for a great mattress).

A bit of background: My experience on the Morgedal for 18 of the last 20 months were fantastic (and I am someone with chronic low back pain, so I’m very peculiar when it comes to mattresses). However, during the last 2 months I’ve had terrible low back, hip, and side abdominal pain every single night; I haven’t had a good night’s sleep since this started. I’ve isolated the culprit to my mattress----the right side of the mattress sags more than the left, so when I sleep on it, my body becomes more misaligned. I’m desperate to find a comparable mattress (that won’t sag or deform after 18 months) so I can finally get a decent night’s sleep.

Any recommendations would be greatly, truly appreciated. In general I prefer mattresses on the firmer side. I’m currently researching the Loom & Leaf mattress, the Bed In A Box Tranquillium, the Nest Quail, and the Tempur-Pedic LuxeAdapt firm but other suggestions would be very helpful. In the meantime, I have ordered a mattress topper to see if it would provide temporary relief while I continue to search for a suitable mattress (I’ve heard mixed opinions on whether a topper would be helpful for my situation, but I might as well give it a shot). Thanks in advance.

Id go Tempurpedic Luxe Adapt Firm!!!

John

Hi boruto.

Welcome to the Mattress Underground! :slight_smile: