Thoughts on the effects of vaccum packing on longevity

So after reading many anecdotes on mattress experiences, lately I’ve been wondering why so many of them seem to wear out much quicker than one would expect for a premium price. It seems even latex, which is meant to be the holy grail of durability, isn’t immune from this.

Of course there is a) selection bias and b) not everything is high quality. But I wonder if vaccum packing is playing a role in this…? I’m not an expert in foam physics but I would imagine compressing foam with very high pressure and keeping it in that compressed state for weeks is bad for the longevity of it. Like out-of-the-box I wouldn’t place a tonne of bricks on my mattress for an extended period of time and expect it to last nearly as long. It seems mattress lifespans have been shrinking over time (a thing the industry celebrates) so I wonder if this is a factor - intentional or not.

The consensus on this seems to be that it’s okay if the mattress is not compressed for too long. But that makes me wonder, how do you know your bed-in-a-box hasn’t been sitting in storage in that box for a year before it arrived to your door? I certainly doubt that retailers care to make sure your mattress is compressed the day before they ship it out to you. It seems like the sort of thing that would need strong inventory management, and the disposal of “expired” models, to be done well. But if that means people are going to buy less mattresses, why would anyone bother? What does it matter when your competitors do the same thing and warranties are unreasonably strict?

Just something I’ve been thinking about. It doesn’t seem to be a topic of discussion anywhere else.

Hi f.fs,