A good value for a non-discerning customer

It was refreshing to stumble onto this forum after browsing lots of generally useless mattress information elsewhere on the internet.

I’m looking for a new mattress, but here’s the thing: I’m not a discerning sleeper, but I want my money to be well-spent.

I’ve been sleeping on the same old twin mattress for probably the past 10(?) years, and I’ve never had any problems with it, despite its size, and the fact that I know nothing about it. My parents bought it for me when I was a kid, and I just took it with me when I graduated college. I didn’t even really mind the dorm mattresses I slept on for two years in college. I don’t have back pain, no regular sleeping positions, and basically no particular preferences at all. I just know that I don’t like to feel as if I’m being swallowed up by my mattress, but I still want it to have some give. And I definitely don’t want something hot.

I’m still looking to stay on the cheaper side (<$500ish), but I want that money to be well spent, so I’m not particularly interested in heading to IKEA and calling it a day. I want to spend my money on a quality product that will last. Despite the fact that I could even sleep on the floor if I had to, I understand the value of a good bed (why start having back problems now?), and I know that as I get older, I’ll only get pickier.

I’ve pretty much narrowed it down to something from DixieFoam, or the DreamFoam Ultimate Dreams. Are the lower-end DixieFoam mattresses good options (EasyRest, DreamBed)? The Ultimate Dreams is pushing it price-wise, but I can’t help but be enchanted by all the wonderful things I’ve read on this forum and on Amazon.

What recommendations would everyone give for someone who doesn’t really mind what mattress he/she gets, but wants to spend his/her money wisely?