Buying My First Mattress; Advice Needed!

Hello!,

I’m new to this mattress loving land and to purchasing a mattress in general.
The past year and a half, I’ve slept on a simple futon pad on the floor (yes, it is as painful as it sounds) and need a change. In the past, I had a fairly cheap all foam mattress my mother purchased when we moved states. After a few years, I did notice, due to the cheap cost, that the mattress sagged in and was no longer as comfortable. Since getting rid of that mattress, I slept on a spring mattress for a short period of time and hated it. So ultimately, I would prefer a supportive yet soft, cozy and comfortable foam mattress.
That being said, I was in a bad car accident three years ago and have never been able to sleep the same. With on going hip and neck issues, I also have a bulging disc in my lower back which causes quite a bit of pain while sleeping (the futon does not help with this, of course) .
I was able to go out and test a few mattresses at a few different locations. I still can’t make up my mind as I feel I don’t have enough information in order to make such a huge decision. I did find out however, while in one mattress store, the sales rep had me lay down on a bed that was to test where I needed the most support (neck and lower back). I scored between a two and a three in mattress firm-soft scale, but much preferred the two, which was the softer of the two options, but still had some support. Now, I’m not sure if this is a store by store sales technique, or if this would really help me in my “find my prefect comfort level” search.
So, here is what I do know: