Help picking a mattress

Hello guys, I’m a new member. I have been lurking on here for a few days. I’m from Houston, Tx. I’m a nurse. I hurt my back about 6 months ago. Now I have intermittent back pain. I mainly lie down on my side when I sleep. I notice that Texas Mattress Maker is a member on here. My brother and his wife as well as my mom has bought beds from them. We use to buy beds from those big mattress chain stores. They bought the barcelona bed. I tried both and thought that they are were very well built and comfortable. I also tried one of their gel beds and I think I prefer the softer beds. Can you guys help me pick a bed. I’m not buying yet, but just doing research now. I do like memory foam, but have read about the heat issue? I really can’t stand sleeping on a surface that is too warm. I always turn the fan on when I sleep. What about latex beds? I just want something that is good for my lower back as that is the main issue.

Hi supaflyz,

Welcome to the Mattress Forum! :slight_smile:

The first place I would start your research is the mattress shopping tutorial here which includes all the basic information, steps, and guidelines that you will need to make the best possible choice … and more importantly know how and why to avoid the worst ones.

I would always keep in mind that you are the only one that can feel what you feel on a mattress and there are too many unknowns, variables, and personal preferences involved for anyone to be able to predict or make a specific suggestion about which mattress would be the best “match” for you in terms of PPP (Posture and alignment, Pressure relief, and Personal preferences) based on specs (either yours or a mattress) or “theory at a distance” that can possibly be more accurate than your own personal testing or sleeping experience (see mattress firmness/comfort levels in post #2 here).