Husband & Wife mattress mis-match … Help!

My husband and I have been hunting for a mattress for honestly a couple of years now. With our current mattress becoming increasingly uncomfortible we have arrived at what I can only describe as the point of desperation.
My husband stands about 5’10" and weighs 280 pounds, he mostly sleeps on his back with a CPAP and currently there is a gully on his side of the mattress (which I do rotate periodically so really there are now two gullies). He doesn’t really have back or neck issues but if the gully gets any bigger I suspect he will soon. We both agree though that I am actually the “problem.” I am 5’5" tall weigh about 130 pounds and suffer from chronic neck and back issues. I had a bulging disc in my low back about ten years ago which prompted the purchase of the mattress we currently have. I no longer have shooting pain down my leg, instead I am left with a nagging tightness in my low back that is exacerbated by laying down in general. I tend to sleep on my right side which currently jams my shoulder into my ear but it is better then the stress on my back if I try and fall asleep laying flat. I go to sleep uncomfortable every night and wake up in pain every morning. I have some degenerative disc issues in my neck which means in addition to chronic neck pain I often wake up with a slightly numb left index finger.
We currently have a Stearns & Foster Estate Kimberley Luxury Firm mattress that we purchased around 2010. I was still in physical therapy for my initial disc issue, still in pain and thought that the mattress seemed ok but of course as my disc issue resolved my quality of sleep did not improve. It turns out that it was not a good mattress for me and I have not really had a good night’s sleep since.