Newbie here in need of some general help

Hi,
My name is Philip and I am 25 years old, my current mattress is over 9 years old! I wake up with back pain and I am somewhat used to it. It seems that the back pain has gotten worse recently, and it doesn’t help that I sit all day at my job. I am 6’2" and 215 pounds, and I am a stomach sleeper, while my girlfriend is mostly a back sleeper but she seems to be able to fall asleep in a more varied position than me, where I have to always sleep on my stomach. I was actually googling around for serta reviews and alternatives when I found this site. We are finally settled in to our new rental home, and I just got a promotion at work, so it is definitely time for a new mattress, and boy do our backs agree!

So, are there any good local mattress stores in San Antonio? I live in 78227, but I can drive to any nearby store, so no biggie if it isn’t too close to me. I started reading some of the material here on the site, but haven’t been able to spend too much time on it. I think we want to look into a memory foam mattress, but I honestly don’t even know what that means. So is the bottom still an innerspring and the top is memory foam? Any recommendations on which types of mattress I should be looking at?

I am also afraid that the mattress may feel great in the store, but once we get home it may not feel the same after a couple of hours. That’s how I feel about the new couches that we have in our home. Also, what type of budget should I be looking at? I am currently on a queen, but given how tall I am, I think I may need to be in a king bed? What do you think? Also do you usually buy a boxspring with the mattress? What about the whole bed set, like headboard thingy? Sorry I don’t know a lot about beds ;). Thank you in advance for any information.

Regards,

Philip

Hi Philipgonzales3,