Stearns & Foster Lux Estate Cassatt Firm/Ultra Firm

Hello,

Does anyone have advice on this collection? My wife and I are considering either the firm or extra firm. We are currently on a Hybrid pocket coil with a latex topper, but it’s just not working for us. Any advice would be appreciated.

Thanks!

Hello,

I am not an expert — I’m very much a novice. In fact, I registered for an account just so I could respond to your post.

Previously, I had lurked on this website (and others, although this one in particular is extremely helpful) for a few months as my husband and I considered our options. A Sterns & Foster “Luxury Firm” mattress at a high end hotel in Downtown Chicago (Loews) is the reason we even started looking at mattresses this summer! It was wonderful, and made us realize how terrible our old mattress was at home. After our stay, we were determined to try and replicate what we experienced.

Let me back up for just a moment. Again, I’m no mattress expert — far from it. In fact, we hadn’t purchased a mattress since 2002 — a Serta Perfect Night. We slept on that until 2015, then started sleeping on our guest room mattress (which was even older, but RARELY used). This was a Serta Perfect Sleeper. So needless to say we were out of the loop as far as the latest and greatest in mattresses. Here’s what I found out:

—mattresses are now made completely differently in the 17 years since we last purchased a mattress (and not for the better)
—mattresses now break down WAY more frequently, and this is commonly accepted. (I’ve read mattresses last something like 4-7 years now!)
—most of the S company brands (Sealy, Sterns & Foster, Serta, Simmons) make inferior quality mattresses and care more about profit margins than making a quality product; avoid if possible.